EuroLeague leader Fenerbahçe keep winning run, beat Baskonia

EuroLeague leader Fenerbahçe keep winning run, beat Baskonia

EuroLeague leader Fenerbahçe keep winning run, beat Baskonia

Turkey's Fenerbahçe Beko continued their winning run in the Turkish Airlines EuroLeague on Jan. 4 by beating Spain's Baskonia at the hoops, 96-87.

At home in Istanbul, the leader Fenerbahçe's top scorer was Nicolo Melli with 19 points.

Fenerbahçe's Jan Vesely was the man of the match with 15 points, three rebounds, and two assists.

Fenerbahçe Beko currently top the league with 15 wins and one loss and a 12-game winning streak.

Spain's Barcelona Lassa beat Turkey's Darüşşafaka Tekfen at home 97-65. Barcelona Lassa grabbed their third consecutive win.

Barcelona improved to 9-7 in the standings and ranked sixth, while Darüşşafaka is at the bottom of the standings with a 2-14 record.

The second half of the 2018-19 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague regular season began on Jan. 3. Turkey's Anadolu Efes defeated Germany's Bayern Munich 92-77 in the 16th round of the season.

Following their 16th match, Anadolu Efes have 10 wins and six losses while Bayern Munich have eight wins and eight losses.

EuroLeague competitions bring together Europe's top basketball clubs.

Sixteen teams are competing this season - four Spanish, three Turkish, two Russian, and two Greek teams, and one team each from Germany, Italy, Israel, Lithuania, and Montenegro.

Turkey is represented in the tournament by Anadolu Efes, Fenerbahçe, and Darüşşafaka.

The regular season will finish on April 5. The top eight teams in the regular season will advance to the playoffs, and the winners to the final four.

The playoffs will be played on April 16-30. The final four will be played on May 17-19 in single elimination matchups.       

Round 16 results are as follows:       

Anadolu Efes (Turkey) - Bayern Munich (Germany): 92-77

Real Madrid (Spain) - Maccabi FOX (Israel): 91-79 

AX Armani Exchange Olimpia Milan (Italy) - Buducnost VOLI (Montenegro): 111-94

Herbalife Gran Canaria (Spain) - Khimki (Russia): 70-99

Fenerbahçe Beko (Turkey) - Baskonia (Spain): 96-87

Zalgiris (Lithuania) - CSKA Moskova (Russia): 70-84

Olympiacos (Greece) - Panathinaikos (Greece): 79-65

Barcelona Lassa (Spain) - Darüşşafaka Tekfen (Turkey): 97-65