Two Turkish scientists receive top US award

Two Turkish scientists receive top US award

WASHINGTON - Anadolu Agency
Two Turkish scientists receive top US award U.S. President Barack Obama has named 102 scientists and researchers as recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers. 

As part of the annual event, Obama awarded two Turkish scientists, Nurçin Çelik of the University of Miami and Sinan Keten of Northwestern University, on Jan. 9.   

“I congratulate these outstanding scientists and engineers on their impactful work,” President Obama said in a statement marking the awards announcement for 102 scientists and researchers. 

“These innovators are working to help keep the United States on the cutting edge, showing that Federal investments in science lead to advancements that expand our knowledge of the world around us and contribute to our economy,” he added. 

Çelik’s research interests include dynamic data driven multi-scale adaptive simulations, modeling and control of complex systems, distributed federation of multi-paradigm simulations, modeling and control in emerging applications (distributed power networks; solid waste management and recycling systems).      

She graduated from Istanbul’s Boğaziçi University in 2006 before receiving her Master’s degree in systems and industrial engineering at the University of Arizona two years later, and completing her PhD in 2010 at the same university.      

Keten’s focus lies in nanostructured polymeric materials and biomolecular and bioinspired materials.      
He also graduated from Boğaziçi University before receiving his Master’s in Engineering and PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.      

Speaking after receiving the awards, both Çelik and Keten expressed pride in receiving their prestigious acknowledgment. 

The awards, established by President Clinton in 1996, are coordinated by the Office of Science and Technology Policy within the Executive Office of the President. Awardees are selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach.