Turkic Council countries set up chamber of commerce

Turkic Council countries set up chamber of commerce

NUR-SULTAN- Anadolu Agency
Turkic Council countries set up chamber of commerce

The Turkic Council countries established a Chamber of Commerce and Industry on May 17.

The charter to form the chamber was signed by the officials from four members of the Turkic Council- Turkey, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan.

Speaking at the signing ceremony, head of Turkey's Union of Chambers and Commodity Exchanges (TOBB) Rıfat Hisarcıklıoğlu said they have realized the dream of former Kazakh President Nursultan Nazarbayev.

He said the chamber is open to the participation of Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan chambers of commerce and industry and hoped the chambers will also join them.

Hisarcıklıoğlu added that the secretariat office of the newly established chamber will be placed in Turkey.

Also speaking, Secretary-General of the Turkic Council Baghdad Amreyev said the foundation of the chamber will open new doors for the increase of trade between the member countries of Turkic Council.

The Cooperation Council of Turkic Speaking States, also known as the Turkic Council, was established in 2009 as an international intergovernmental organization, with the aim of promoting comprehensive cooperation among Turkic speaking states.

Its four founding member states are Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Turkey.