Writers billed for the London Book Fair 2013

Writers billed for the London Book Fair 2013

Writers billed for the London Book Fair 2013

The participating writers will represent the diversity of Turkish writing.

The British Council, the UK’s international cultural relations organization, has announced the 2013 Market Focus Cultural Program as “Turkey in all its Colors.” The 2013 Market Focus Cultural Program will bring well known contemporary Turkish writing and publishing to the United Kingdom, giving UK audiences a rare opportunity to meet and interact with Turkish writers.

A series of high profile public and trade events will take place in and around the London Book Fair, where writers from Turkey will engage in debates and discussions with their UK counterparts in front of an international literary audience. The participating writers will represent the diversity of contemporary Turkish writing across a range of genres and from different generations.

The London Book Fair is one of the global publishing industry’s most important annual events.

Attracting around 25,000 business visitors each year, the London Book Fair is the global marketplace for rights negotiation and the sale and distribution of content across print, audio, TV, film and digital channels.

The British Council’s Cultural Program involves 20 writers from Turkey and more than 35 panelists, including UK writers, translators and editors, in almost 40 events at 15 venues across four cities. The writers will explore writing in a changing Turkey, the future of literature and writing Turkey from a distance.

The program has been organized in partnership with the Turkish National Organizing Committee for International Book Fairs (NOC), who are also running four seminars with 11 writers at the London Book Fair.

Participants in the Cultural Program include writers supported by the British Council: İnci Aral, Oya Baydar, Fethiye Çetin, Fatih Erdoğan, Murat Gülsoy, Hakan Günday, Müge İplikçi, Ayşe Kulin, Mario Levi, Perihan Mağden, Bejan Matur, Murat Menteş, Murathan Mungan, Bariş Müstecaplıoğlu, Asli E Perker, Elif Şafak, Ece Temelkuran, Ayfer Tunç.