Galatasaray to pay friendly visit to Real Madrid

Galatasaray to pay friendly visit to Real Madrid

Galatasaray to pay friendly visit to Real Madrid

Galatasaray's Polish forward Lukas Podolski (L) and Dutch midfielder Wesley Sneijder celebrate with the trophy after winning the 2015 Turkish Super Cup final match against Bursaspor at Osmanli Stadium on August 08, 2015 in Ankara. AFP Photo

Galatasaray, which enjoyed winning the Turkish Super Cup on Aug. 8, will play a friendly match against Real Madrid on Aug. 18, according to a statement from the Turkish club.

“As part of the 36th edition of the Santiago Bernabeu Trophy, Real Madrid and Galatasaray will play at Santiago Bernabeu Stadium at 11:30 p.m. on Aug. 18,” the statement said.

The two teams met for a similar friendly before in 2011 in Madrid, which the hosts won 2-1.

In 2000, UEFA Cup holders Galatasaray triumphed against Champions League winners Real Madrid 3-2 in the UEFA Super Cup final.

The reigning Turkish Spor Toto Super League champions and Turkish Cup holders lifted the 2015 Turkish Super Cup by defeating Bursaspor 1-0 on Aug. 8 in the capital city of Ankara.

Galatasaray captain Selçuk İnan lifted the trophy to the sky after the Istanbul giants managed to beat Bursaspor for the second time in a cup final this season, following a 3-2 win against the club in the 2014-15 Ziraat Turkish Cup final in June.

The winning goal came early on in the 22nd minute by Lions Turkish winger Yasin Öztekin.

Near the end of the game, Galatasaray midfielder Emre Çolak was directly sent off after a foul against Bursaspor midfielder Ozan Tufan.

The game saw Galatasaray’s new signing from English Premier League club Arsenal, German wing forward Lukas Podolski, make his debut for the Istanbul side.

With the Super Cup trophy, the Lions completed a “treble” this season along with Spor Toto Super League and Ziraat Turkish Cup victories.

The Lions have won the Turkish Super Cup four times, which puts them atop the list for most wins of the domestic trophy. The club has clinched the title - under the name Presidential Cup until 1998 and Super Cup after - a total of 14 times.