Turkey lifts restrictions as normalization phase begins

Turkey lifts restrictions as normalization phase begins

Turkey lifts restrictions as normalization phase begins

Turkey has entered a new normalization phase, relaxing most of the COVID-19-related restrictions, including nighttime curfews and nationwide lockdowns on Sundays.

The new episode in the county’s fight against the pandemic began on July 1 after the government decided to remove the curbs amid the decline in daily virus cases and fast-track vaccinations.

In the normalization phase, all curfews, which had been in effect for months, will be fully scrapped, and there will be no intercity travel restrictions.

Cafes and restaurants are now allowed to serve people with no limitation on guest numbers in indoor and outdoor areas.

All workplaces and cinemas, which have suspended their activities as part of coronavirus measures, will reopen while restrictions and measures in accommodation facilities will end, although hygiene, mask, and social distancing rules must still be followed.

Concerts, festivals, and youth camps will also be allowed.

Moreover, Health Minister Fahrettin Koca signaled on June 29 that sports matches can be held with a limited number of fans and in line with COVID-19 safety measures.

In March 2020, Turkey barred fans from all nationwide sporting events to stem the virus’ spread. In the 2020-21 season, no fans were allowed to watch sports matches in the venues.

Austria removes Turkey from COVID-19 red list

Austria removed a number of countries, including Turkey, from its red list of countries with travel restrictions imposed
in response to the coronavirus pandemic.

Those who have received two doses of coronavirus vaccine at least 14 days before entering Austria will not be needed to quarantine, Foreign Minister Alexander Schallenberg told a press conference.

Meanwhile, travelers from the EU and other "low-risk" countries will be permitted to enter Austria without being forced to quarantine if they are either vaccinated or have a negative test result.

Brazil, South Africa, India, and the U.K. still remain on the red list due to the spread of new coronavirus variants.