Seven zones declared forbidden in Hakkari

Seven zones declared forbidden in Hakkari

Seven zones declared forbidden in Hakkari

Republican People’s Party (CHP) Adıyaman deputy Salih Fırat (L) speaks to villagers during a recent delegate visit to Hakkari’s Şemdinli district. AA photo

Seven zones in the southeastern province of Hakkari will be under a temporary military prohibition until Oct. 6, 2012, the provincial Governor’s Office has announced in a written statement. 

Operations against the Kurdistan Workers’ Party (PKK) have been carried out in Hakkari amidst great conflict in recent days, resulting in some areas being declared temporary military safety zones. The Hakkâri Governor’s Office announced the prohibited zones in the Hakkâri, Şemdinli, Çukurca and Yüksekova districts in a written statement. The seven zones are the “İkiyaka zone, east of Şırnak Beytüşşebap and Altındağlar in the central region of Hakkari, Buzul Mountain, Alandüz, the Balkaya Mountains, Gediktepe and Karadağ, and the Çağlayan and Pirinçeken zones.” 

“Between the dates of July 6, 2012 and October 6, 2012, citizens are prohibited from entering these zones for the safety of their lives and property,” the statement read. 

Meanwhile, Massoud Barzani, president of northern Iraq’s Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG), condemned the outlawed Kurdistan Workers’ Party’s (PKK) assault on three military outposts in Hakkari, in which six soldiers and two village guards were killed. He called for a ceasefire and a peaceful solution to the conflict. 

“These attacks will not benefit Kurds and also block efforts to find a peaceful solution. War and clashes deepen and sharpen the crisis,” Barzani said, speaking in Arbil.