Final list of Turkish candidate MPs announced

Final list of Turkish candidate MPs announced

Final list of Turkish candidate MPs announced

The final list of Turkish political parties' candidate MPs that will run in parliamentary elections on June 24 was published early today in the official gazette.

The Supreme Board of Election (YSK) reviewed the objections to the candidate lists and made a decision.

According to the YSK, eight political parties including the ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP), main opposition Republican People's Party (CHP) and Nationalist Movement Party (MHP) will run in the parliamentary elections.

The remaining parties are the Peoples' Democratic Party (HDP), Felicity (Saadet) Party, Patriotic (Vatan) Party, Free Cause (Hüda-Par) Party and newly formed Good (IYI) Party.

There are also 68 independent candidates across the country, the YSK said.

In their final lists, AKP, CHP and Hüda-Par replaced a single candidate in their tentative lists with another name, while MHP replaced two, Patriotic Party replaced three, Felicity and IYI replaced six and HDP replaced 13 candidates.

Felicity Party also added six more candidates in its final list for the southeastern province of Diyarbakır and swapped the places of two candidates in its list for the western province of Bursa. 

This April, parliament passed a bill for early elections on June 24, cementing Turkey’s move to a presidential system.

In an April 2017 referendum, Turkish voters approved the switch from a parliamentary system to a presidential one.

June 24 elections, Turkish MP candidates,