CHP head Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu reshuffles party's top brass after convention

CHP head Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu reshuffles party's top brass after convention

CHP head Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu reshuffles partys top brass after convention

Kemal Kılıçdaroğlu, the leader of the Republican People’s Party (CHP), has reshuffled the party’s top executive body following last week’s convention in a bid to fortify the main opposition before next year’s key elections. 

The 18-member Central Executive Board (MYK) of the CHP was announced on Feb. 12 following the party’s 36th Congress that renewed the 52-member party assembly. 

One of the surprises of the new MYK is the appointment of former journalist Tuncay Özkan as the deputy leader responsible for media and communication affairs, although he had allied with Kılıçdaroğlu’s main in-house rival, Muharrem İnce, during the leadership of the general convention. Özkan was elected to the party assembly despite the fact he was not on Kılıçdaroğlu’s list. 

In the new MYK, Istanbul deputy Akif Hamzaçebi has been appointed as the general secretary, while party spokesman Bülent Tezcan will also serve as the head of the party organizations. Tekin Bingöl will be the deputy leader responsible for human rights. 

One of the new figures of the MYK is former ambassador Ünal Çeviköz, who became deputy leader responsible for public diplomacy, a position that did not exist in the past. Öztürk Yılmaz will continue to bear the responsibility of running the CHP’s foreign relations. 

Three female members of the party assembly have been appointed as deputy leaders and will serve in the party management. Gülizar Biçer Karaca, will be responsible for environmental rights, Lale Karabıyık will be responsible for education policy and Gamze Akkuş İlgezdi will be responsible for the public relations post. 

Faik Öztrak, former MYK member responsible for economy, will serve as the deputy leader responsible for social policy. 

Other MYK members include Fethi Açıkel, Onursal Adıgüzel, Aykut Erdoğdu, Muharrem Erkek, Haluk Koç, Veli Ağbaba, Çetin Osman Budak and Seyit Torun.