Nominees announced for Afife Theater Awards

Nominees announced for Afife Theater Awards

ISTANBUL - Hürriyet Daily News
Nominees announced for Afife Theater Awards

The jury members of the apı Kredi Afife Theater Awards pose at the press conference on April 2.

The 2012 nominees for one of the most important awards in Turkish theater, the Yapı Kredi Afife Theater Awards, and the recipients of special awards were announced at a press conference on April 2.

Special awards honoring the most successful figures and plays from the 2011-2012 Turkish theater season will include the Muhsin Ertuğrul Special Award presented to actress Nedret Güvenç, the Cevat Fehmi Başkut Special Award presented to playwright Ülkü Ayvaz and the Yapı Kredi Special Award presented to playwright, poet and critic Turan Oflazoğlu.

Yapı Kıredi Afife Theater Awards CEO Salih Başağa said at the press conference that it was the most prestigious theater award in Turkey. “This project, which we have supported for 16 years, makes us proud. This year we increased the number of selective committee members and elicited wider participation in choosing the recipients of the awards.”

He said a total of 30 selective committee members had visited theaters in Istanbul to find the right nominees.

The awards will be presented in 15 categories from the best production to the best lighting designer at a ceremony that will be held on April 30 at the Haliç Congress Center. The awards have been presented each year since 1997.