Northern Cyprus parties agree to coalition government

Northern Cyprus parties agree to coalition government

ANKARA-Anadolu Agency
Northern Cyprus parties agree to coalition government

The National Unity Party (UBP) and the People's Party (HP) of Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) agreed to form a coalition government, Turkish Agency Cyprus (TAK) reported on May 21.

Both parties will sign a protocol in parliament on May 22, then the Cabinet list will be handed to the President of TRNC Mustafa Akıncı, according to TAK.

A government crisis was triggered May 8 when Serdar Denktaş, the leader of Democratic Party, stepped down as finance minister of the ruling coalition, led by Republican Turkish Party's (CTP) leader Tufan Erhurman.

Following Denktaş' resignation, Kudret Özersay – the leader of HP who acted as foreign minister and vice prime minister – announced he would withdraw from the coalition as well.

On May 9, Prime Minister Erhurman, in order not to delay the establishment of the new government, delivered the resignation of the four-party coalition to the president.

Following snap general election Jan. 7, 2018, the four-party coalition government consisting of Republican Turkish Party (CTP), the People's Party (HP), Communal Democracy Party (TDP) and Democratic Party (DP) was formed under the leadership of Erhurman.

Last February, the coalition government won a vote of confidence by 27-22, as one lawmaker was absent from the 50-seat parliament.