Armenia eases visa rules for EU citizens

Armenia eases visa rules for EU citizens

YEREVAN - Agence France-Presse
Armenia yesterday lifted visa requirements for EU travelers in a bid to build closer ties with the 27-nation bloc.

The unilateral action covering six-month visas also applies to the four non-EU countries of the Schengen Area, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

“Lifting visa requirement will foster Europe’s business and tourism activity in Armenia,” Armenia’s Foreign Ministry spokesman, Tigran Balayan, told Agence France-Presse.

Armenia is countering strong pressure from Moscow to join a Russian-led customs union by seeking closer economic and political ties with Brussels.

EU’s foreign policy chief Catherine Ashton’s office said last month that Armenia’s membership in the Russian-led trade club would hurt the country’s chances of developing freer trade with the EU. Analysts expect freer travel rules to benefit trade relations.