Turkish Cypriots hit polls in local elections

Turkish Cypriots hit polls in local elections

Turkish Cypriots hit polls in local elections

Voting began in Turkish Cyprus for local elections on June 24. The voting is taking place as Turkey hits the polls around in all 81 provinces across the country in landmark presidential and parliamentary elections.

A total of 191,153 voters across the country are expected to cast their votes at 734 ballot boxes.

The voting began at 8 a.m. and will continue until 6 p.m. local time.

Turkish Cypriots will vote to elect their mayors, members of city council, mukhtars and councilors.

Voters across six districts in Turkish Cyprus will vote for a total of 28 municipalities and 280 members of city council.

There are 111 candidates running for mayor.

Due to election law, there will be no broadcasting about Turkish Cypriot elections until 7.00 p.m. and once results are out from Supreme Election Board between 7 to 9 p.m. local time, the broadcasting ban will be lifted.

TRNC's Supreme Election Board head Narin Ferdi Sefik is expected to make a statement on June 25 morning regarding election results.