East African countries mull deal with Turkey

East African countries mull deal with Turkey

ISTANBUL - Hürriyet Daily News
East African countries mull deal with Turkey

Turkish Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoğlu meets his Kenyan counterpart Moses Wetangula March 17. Turkey is increasingly pushing into promising African markets. AA photo

The East African Community is considering a non-binding trade and investment deals proposed by Turkey, according to Bloomberg News.

The community may in future consider entering similar accords with other emerging economies including India and China, the Arusha, Tanzania-based five-nation trade bloc said in an e-mailed report March 23.
The East African Community comprises Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi.

First established in 1967, the community was re-established in 2000 after it was dissolved in 1977, according to its official website. South Sudan and Somalia have applied to become full members of the community.

The members of the community established a common market after following the initiation of customs union in 2005. The community aims to found a monetary union by 2015 and then move on to unite under a federative system, according to the official website of the Turkish Foreign Ministry. Turkey started official relations with the community in June 2010.