Ruling coalition resigns in Turkish Cyprus

Ruling coalition resigns in Turkish Cyprus

ANKARA-Anadolu Agency
Ruling coalition resigns in Turkish Cyprus

The coalition government in the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) resigned on May 9, according to local media.

Premier and coalition leader Tufan Erhurman submitted the government’s resignation to President Mustafa Akıncı after Minister of Finance Serdar Denktaş resigned and the People’s Party announced its withdrawal on May 8, Turkish Agency Cyprus reported.

Akıncı, who accepted the resignation, asked Erhurman to continue as prime minister until a new government was formed.

Following the snap general election on Jan. 7, 2018, the four-party coalition government consisting of Republican Turkish Party (CTP), the People's Party (HP), Communal Democracy Party (TDP) and Democratic Party (DP) was formed under leadership of Erhurman, who is the leader of the CTP.         

In mid-February last year, the coalition government won the vote of confidence with 27-22, as one lawmaker was absent from the 50-seat parliament.

Support of 26 members of parliament is required in order to form the government in the TRNC.










Turkish Cypriots,